The annual general meeting of Stand Up Paddle Victoria (SUP VIC) was held last Sunday 26th June 2011 at Hobsons Restaurant in Sandringham. Inaugural club President, David “DJ” Peterson elected to stand down from that position and has accepted the newly created role of Club Captain, which I’m sure everyone connected with the sport will agree is a fitting reflection of DJ’s standing within SUP VIC as well as the broader stand up paddle community in Melbourne and throughout Victoria. The role of club President has been taken up by Paul Harrington. Brendan Nachtigal and Jonathan Cowcher will continue as Treasurer and Secretary respectively. Likewise, Dave Hunt, Ross McClure and Warwick Lee have been re-elected to the committee. They will be joined by Janette McMaster, Jean Ringrose Coyne, Tim Patterson, Alan Fairlie, and Rob Wong. With a number of major events planned for this Summer, including races, surf events, state titles and a major social paddle fundraiser for a local hospital, the committee is certainly preparing itself for a busy season. We look forward to the challenge ahead and expect to make some exciting announcements in the very near future.